Nursing Person-Centered Care & Professional Practice - Honours Bachelor of Science - Nursing Degree - Library and Academic Success at Georgian College

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Community Safety, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technolgies, Health & Wellness, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

Nursing Person Centered Care & Professional Practice

The phrase person-centered care (PCC) describes an approach to health care plans that creates a holistic care plan informed by the whole person. In PCC, the person is not just a patient or a disease. PPC is a communication model nurses use to engage the person in need of care as a partner in the development of an individualized care plan.

PCC:

Encourages persons in need of care to take an active role in their care by creating learning opportunities that help foster well-being through self-empowerment, self-determination, patient autonomy and advocacy.
Asks the nurse to consider aspects of care (i.e. social, cultural) that the person may already incorporate in their personal lives, such as spiritual and emotional needs.

Check out the following nursing documents to learn more about person-centered care:

References:

The Association for the Development of Person-Centered Approach. (2002). The history of the person-centered approach. https://adpca.org/the-history-of-the-pca/

RNAO. (2002). Client centred care. https://rnao.ca/sites/rnao-ca/files/Client_Centred_Care.pdf

RNAO. (2015). Person-and family-centred care. https://rnao.ca/sites/rnao-ca/files/FINAL_Web_Version_0.pdf

Caring in Nursing Classics: An Essential Resource by Marlaine C. Smith (Editor); Marian C. Turkel (Editor); Zane Robinson Wolf (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826171115
Publication Date: 2012-12-12
Co-published with the Watson Caring Science Institute (WCSI), this text comprises 37 classic book chapters and journal articles written by leaders in the field and illuminate the evolution of the caring paradigm. Content covers in-depth analysis of the evolution of caring scholarship, systematic reviews of the concept of caring, theoretical perspectives, seminal research studies, research designs and methods, practice models for the integration of caring within contemporary hospital-based practice environments, caring in communities and for the environment, leadership and administrative issues with a focus on caring and economics, and the future of caring science.
Compassionate Person-Centered Care for the Dying by Bonnie Freeman
ISBN: 9780826122476
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This groundbreaking reference for palliative care nurses is the first to provide realistic and achievable evidence-based methods for incorporating compassionate and humanistic care of the dying into current standards of practice. It builds on the author's research-based CARES tool; a reference that synthesizes five key elements demonstrated to enable a peaceful death, as free from suffering as possible: comfort, airway management, management of restlessness and delirium, emotional and spiritual support, and selfcare for nurses.
Health Literacy in Nursing: Providing Person-Centered Care by Terri Ann Parnell
ISBN: 9780826161734
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Health Literacy in Nursing promotes verbal and written communication strategies that nurses can use to effectively meet the individualized needs of an increasingly diverse patient population in an effort to enhance patient-provider communication across the entire continuum of care. It provides strategies for creating culturally appropriate written materials in plain language that patients can read and follow when they arrive home.
Oncology Nurse Navigation: Delivering Patient-Centered Care Across the Continuum by Deborah Christensen (Editor); Cynthia Cantril (Editor)
ISBN: 9781635930351
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
This second edition of Oncology Nurse Navigation: Delivering Patient-Centered Care Across the Continuum, provides novice and experienced nurse navigators with an overview of the role of the nurse navigator in cancer care and outlines the development of a navigation program, the skills and training needed to work as a nurse navigator, methods to evaluate outcomes, and issues related to assisting patients with specific types of cancers.
Partnering with Parents: Family-Centred Practice in Children's Services by Barry Trute; Diane Hiebert-Murphy
ISBN: 9781442610507
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Partnering with Parents is a primer on family-centered practice for professionals working in children's health and developmental services. The authors identify and discuss the key principles of the model as it is practiced in Canada, with a focus on working alliances, empowerment methods, and the development of social support resources. Providing examples of the application of family-centered practice in a wide range of service settings, this book is useful for the social workers, nurses, psychologists, and allied health professionals who work together in complex service situations.
Primary Nursing: Person-Centered Care Delivery System Design by Susan Wessel (Editor); Marie Manthey
ISBN: 9781886624962
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Primary Nursing describes a model of care delivery that while being nearly 5 decades mature, continues to provide the highest level of person-centered care for thousands of patients and their loved ones. Topics covered in this edition include: how Primary Nursing continues to address persistent issues in the nursing profession and how implementation can succeed in today's fast paced environment. New to this edition are stories from long-term Primary Nursing practice environments as well as the interdisciplinary approach to professional practice. Primary Nursing is a past winner of the American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award.
Quality of Life and Person-Centered Care for Older People by Thomas Boggatz
ISBN: 9783030299897
Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Person-centred care is a way of providing nursing care that puts older people and their families at the core of all decisions, seeing each person as an individual, and working together to develop appropriate solutions. Individual family situations, social circumstances, values and lifestyles are considered. Following an introduction to the concept of quality of life in old age, the book reviews essential findings from worldwide qualitative research into the experiences of older people with regard to nursing care and the impact of these experiences on their quality of life. Each chapter includes a brief introduction to the respective field of nursing care and the problems it has to deal with, concluding with a discussion of their implications for nursing practice in the respective field of care.
Treatment Planning for Person-Centered Care: The Road to Mental Health and Addiction Recovery by Neal Adams; Diane M. Grieder
ISBN: 9780120441556
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
Requirements for treatment planning in the mental health and addictions fields are long standing and embedded in the treatment system. However, most clinicians find it a challenge to develop an effective, person-centered treatment plan. Such a plan is required for reimbursement, regulatory, accreditation and managed care purposes. Without a thoughtful assessment and well-written plan, programs and private clinicians are subject to financial penalties, poor licensing/accreditation reviews, less than stellar audits, etc. In addition, research is beginning to demonstrate that a well-developed person-centered care plan can lead to better outcomes for persons served.

Professional practice includes the structure, process and values that support nurses' control over the delivery of nursing care and the environment in which care is delivered. More specifically, the Framework For The Practice of Registered Nurses in Canada, 2015 by the Canadian Nurses Association details the areas involved in professional practice:

Registration and Licensure
Values
Entry-Level Competencies
Educational Preparation
Scope of Practice
The Development of Expertise and Continuing Competence
Professional Conduct

Review these key nursing documents for additional information on nursing practice:

References:

Canadian Nurses Association. (2015). RN practice framework. https://www.cna-aiic.ca/en/nursing/regulated-nursing-in-canada/rn-practice-framework2

Community Health Nurses of Canada. (2019). 2019 Canadian community health nursing professional practice model & standards of practice. https://www.chnc.ca/en/standards-of-practice

The Ethic of Care: a Moral Compass for Canadian Nursing Practice - Revised Edition by Kathleen Stephany
ISBN: 9789811439636
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
The author argues that the ethic of care be the guiding compass for everything that nurses do - encouraging nurses to embody the ethic of care as a "lived virtue." Nurses are also inspired to be the leaders of tomorrow by working toward achieving accountability and sustainability in the Canadian publicly funded health care system and by effectively addressing social inequities. The book attempts to inspire nurses to be ethical leaders for social change at the patient/client, community and global level and includes additional information about trauma-informed care to combat systemic racism and improve the health outcomes for Indigenous peoples; ethics, gender and sexual orientation is dealt with in an inclusive and sensitive way, and a new Code of Conduct has been included.
Ethical Competence in Nursing Practice: Competencies, Skills, Decision-Making by Catherine Robichaux
ISBN: 9780826126375
Publication Date: 2016-07-28
This text addresses different areas of professional practice and is rich with case studies illustrating the need for ethical competence and decision making. Clear and concise, the text relates content to the nurse's current practice and introduces a framework for the development of ethical competence, from recognition of an ethical situation to implementation of a justifiable action. A decision-making model that includes elements of care and virtue ethics is also included. Essential communication and conflict skills are addressed, in addition to the role of the ethics committee and ethics consultation. The book discusses common ethical issues likely to be encountered, how to recognize and address moral distress, and ethical practice as it relates to research, quality, and safety. Case studies that incorporate evidence-informed research provide the opportunity to develop ethical skills and apply decision making principles.
Introduction to Quality and Safety Education for Nurses: Core Competencies by Patricia Kelly; Beth Vottero; Carolyn Christie-McAuliffe
ISBN: 9780826121837
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
This is the first undergraduate textbook to provide a comprehensive overview of essential knowledge, skill, and attitudes about safety in nursing practice. It reflects the six areas of nursing competencies as developed by the Quality and Safety Education Program for Nurses (QSEN) initiative, which are currently required content in undergraduate nursing programs. Using an inter-professional focus, the book addresses the fundamental knowledge required of entry-level nurses in each of the six QSEN areas: quality improvement, patient safety, teamwork and collaboration, evidence-based practice, informatics, and patient-centered care. Each chapter includes objectives, opening scenarios, case studies, critical thinking exercises, key terms, NCLEX-style questions, photos, tables, figures, web resources, recommendations for additional reading, and PowerPoint slides. An important feature of the book is the listing of QSEN competencies and the associated knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSA) in the Appendix.
The Moral Work of Nursing: Asking and Living with the Questions by Hazel J. Magnussen
ISBN: 9781987857825
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
Reflecting on her 35-year nursing career, studies in health care ethics in the 1980s and recent developments in Canadian health care, Magnussen invites readers to ponder moral questions about the work of nurses in community, hospital and long term care settings. Nurses' moral work requires reflection on practice, sensitivity to moral issues, courage to ask questions and take action when patient care is compromised. When concerns are not taken seriously, and systemic or other constraints make it difficult or impossible to act morally, nurses experience moral distress. They are torn between their professional commitment to safe, competent, compassionate and ethical care for patients/clients, and their personal responsibility to remain healthy and fit to practice in ever-changing health care environments.
The Nurse Professional: Leveraging Your Education for Transition Into Practice by Deborah Dolan Hunt
ISBN: 9780826168788
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
The Nurse Professional helps novices prepare for their transition into a "real world" role from being a student through graduation, NCLEX success, job search, first job, and beyond. The author offers sound advice regarding the most current issues facing new nurses and practical strategies for obtaining a job of one's choice, describes steps to take well before graduation to ensure a smooth transition to professional practice, and addresses the various indicators of academic achievement that are required for employment at some nursing facilities. She also discusses the benefits of externships, internships, professional development, and networking, how to develop a winning portfolio, and how to successfully transition into professional practice. This book provides information on workplace bullying and how to deal with it; the importance of self-care, self-advocacy, and networking; writing a résumé; interview skills; and much more.
Nursing Ethics and Professional Responsibility in Advanced Practice by Pamela J. Grace
ISBN: 9781284107333
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Nursing Ethics and Professional Responsibility in Advanced Practice focuses on the historical background, knowledge and leadership skills necessary to improve the quality of health for both individuals and society. The text takes a comprehensive approach in addressing contemporary health issues faced by healthcare professionals across a variety of settings. The Third Edition has been updated to reflect changes in the healthcare landscape and to explore how this impacts and expands the role of the advance practice nurse, including - Exploration of the role of inter-professional ethics; Expanded content on social justice including advocacy for vulnerable populations and global issues; Additional content on gerontologic issues; New content on men's health issues and substance abuse; Focus on perioperative and CRNA issues.
Nursing Interventions and Clinical Skills by Anne Griffin Perry; Patricia A. Potter; Wendy Ostendorf
ISBN: 9780323187947
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Perry and Potter's Nursing Interventions and Clinical Skills, 5th Edition is your all-around best choice for learning the skills and techniques you'll use every day in practice. Covering 181 skills, this highly accessible manual conveniently groups all related skills together, so you can find information quickly. The companion Evolve website features 50 video clips, skills checklists, and much more, ensuring your successful mastery of each skill. Coverage of 159 skills and interventions addresses basic, intermediate, and advanced skills you'll use every day in practice.
Professional Practice Models in Nursing: Successful Health System Implementation by Joanne R. Duffy
ISBN: 9780826126436
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
This is the first resource to demonstrate to nurse leaders, administrators, and staff how to develop, apply, and successfully integrate a professional practice model into a health system. It delivers best practices for creating, implementing, evaluating, adapting, adopting, and revising professional practice models that contribute to improving patient outcomes. Consolidating a wealth of information in one place, the text describes a coordinated and consistent approach that generates an in-depth understanding of professional practice models, including their implementation and evaluation. Distinguished by its focus on the "how to" of successful enculturation--a common obstacle for many nursing professionals--the text guides nurse leaders and educators in the process of integrating professional practice models into clinical workflow, advancing nursing practice, improving the quality of patient care, and facilitating Magnet(R) designation.

Collaboration is an important part of the nursing profession and among members of a health-care team. The Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO) defines collaboration in the guidelines for Intra-professional Collaborative Practice Among Nurses as: "Working together with one or more members of the health-care team, each of whom makes a unique contribution toward achieving a common goal." The RNAO emphasizes that collaboration is a process that requires effective communication skills.

The College of Nurses of Ontario has an important practice guideline, RN and RPN Practice: The Client, the Nurse and the Environment which contributes towards interprofessional and intraprofessional practice in nursing.

Reference:

RNAO. (2016). Intra-professional collaborative practice among nurses guidelines. https://rnao.ca/bpg/guidelines/intra-professional-collaborative-practice-among-nurses

The Art of Communication in Nursing and Health Care: An Interdisciplinary Approach by Theresa Raphael-Grimm
ISBN: 9780826110558
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
This clear, concise guide to professional communication strategies helps nurses and other health care clinicians to build effective patient relationships and navigate a wide variety of difficult patient and professional interactions. The book tackles such complex issues as dealing with demanding patients, maintaining professional boundaries, overcoming biases and stereotypes, managing clinician emotions, communicating bad news, challenging a colleague's clinical opinion, and other common scenarios. The book guides the reader through a conceptual framework for building effective relationships that is based on the principles of mindfulness. These principles are embedded in discussions of the fundamental elements of interpersonal effectiveness, such as hope, empathy, and listening.
Communication Skills for Adult Nurses by Abayomi McEwen; Sarah Kraszewski
ISBN: 9780335239993
Publication Date: 2010-01-09
"This book is a real gem - useful not only for nurses, but for all healthcare professionals, students and educators wanting to develop their communication skills. One is reminded that it is not always about 'what' is said, but 'how' it is said. This book will be a great resource for those advocating interprofessional working, while keeping the patient's perspective in the reader's mind throughout."
Emotional Intelligence in Nursing: essentials for leadership and practice improvement by Estelle Codier
ISBN: 9780826174536
Publication Date: 2020-12-01
The first book on emotional intelligence (EI) written for nurses, this comprehensive resource delivers both the theoretical knowledge and practical skills to improve patient outcomes. Authored by one of the foremost experts in EI and nursing, the text discusses the foundations of EI and shows how EI skills can and should be applied to any practice setting in nursing. Using core concepts of EI and evidence-based research, this publication discusses the implications of EI on key nursing challenges such as burnout, patient safety, staff retention, conflict management, ethical decision-making, quality and safety, and wellness. Emotional Intelligence in Nursing addresses the application of EI skills in various arenas of clinical practice and in advanced practice nursing roles.
Health Communication for Healthcare Professionals: An Applied Approach by Michael P. Pagano
ISBN: 9780826124418
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Communication is a clinical skill integral to effective health care delivery and this comprehensive text addresses the theories and abilities needed by all health care providers. The author underscores the importance of developing and maintaining successful relationships with patients, peers, and colleagues as a cornerstone of effective health care outcomes. Chapters cover interpersonal and gendered communication, provider-patient communication, intercultural communication, organizational communication, team communication, malpractice, palliative care, end-of-life communication, and many other topics.
Transforming Interprofessional Partnerships; : A New Framework for Nursing and Partnership-Based Health Care by Riane Eisler
ISBN: 9781938835285
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book provides nurses and other health care professionals tools to reexamine the current state of interdisciplinary partnerships in order to build a more effective, caring, and sustainable health care system. This comprehensive text will benefit nurses by defining and illustrating full partnership in practice, education, and research in order to improve communication and interprofessional collaboration.

According to the FPT Committee On Health Workforce: A Vision For The Future Of Nursing In Canada, 2017, rapidly changing health care systems create challenges related to diverse patient and population healthcare needs, sustainability and equal access to health care services. Nurses play an integral role in healthcare leadership to address these challenges in the twenty-first century. Review this report to find out more about the vision for the future of nursing in Canada.

The following RNAO Best Practice Guidelines contribute towards an understanding of nursing in healthcare:

Reference:

Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association. (2017). Vision for the future of nursing in canada. https://indigenousnurses.ca/resources/publications/vision-future-nursing-canada

Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare: Values into action by David Stanley (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119253778
Publication Date: 2016-10-19
Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare: Values into Action offers a range of tools and topics that support and foster clinically focused nurses and other healthcare professionals to develop their leadership potential. The new edition has been updated in light of recent key changes in health service approaches to care and values. Divided into three parts, it offers information on the attributes of clinical leaders, as well as the tools healthcare students and staff can use to develop their leadership potential. It also outlines a number of principles, frameworks and topics that support nurses and healthcare professionals to develop and deliver effective clinical care as clinical leaders.
The Ethic of Care: a Moral Compass for Canadian Nursing Practice - Revised Edition by Kathleen Stephany
ISBN: 9789811439636
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
The author argues that the ethic of care be the guiding compass for everything that nurses do - encouraging nurses to embody the ethic of care as a "lived virtue." Nurses are also inspired to be the leaders of tomorrow by working toward achieving accountability and sustainability in the Canadian publicly funded health care system and by effectively addressing social inequities. The book attempts to inspire nurses to be ethical leaders for social change at the patient/client, community and global level and includes additional information about trauma-informed care to combat systemic racism and improve the health outcomes for Indigenous peoples; ethics, gender and sexual orientation is dealt with in an inclusive and sensitive way, and a new Code of Conduct has been included.
Nurses As Leaders: Evolutionary Visions of Leadership by William Rosa (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826131027
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Encompassing the wisdom of both established and emerging nurse leaders, this expansive book demonstrates proof of theory in action and the influence of our great nursing legacy on today luminaries as they carve out new terrain to benefit current and future health care needs. With a far-reaching, ambitious perspective, it is the first text to link the ideas of nurse leaders from very diverse specialty areas including holism, advanced practice, education, policy, global health, journalism, and spiritual communities. With an eye to creative evolution in education, research and clinical settings, contributors discuss how emerging nurse leaders can be agents of change' beyond the confines of traditional practice and curricula--through innovation and collaboration. Contributors also relate the circumstances and experiences that sparked their nursing passions, the moral/ethical foundation from which they practice, and inspired messages toward communal, societal, and global impact within nursing of the future.
Transformational Leadership in Nursing: From Expert Clinician to Influential Leader by Elaine Marshall; Marion E. Broome
ISBN: 9780826193988
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
This award-winning text guides nursing graduate students in developing the key skills they need to fulfill emerging leadership roles as our health care system experiences profound change and increasing complexity. The book provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration that will help to facilitate leadership at the highest level of clinical practice. This second edition is expanded and updated to incorporate leadership challenges resulting from health care reform, changes in the current vision of health care, and innovations that foster leadership development. Two completely new chapters address transformational leadership regarding changing health care perspectives and emerging contexts for health care. The text helps graduate students to master the skills they need to work effectively with interdisciplinary colleagues, address challenges within the confines of budget constraints, and resolve health care disparities and improve outcomes in all settings.

According to Florence Nightingale, health was the absence of disease and illness. The definition of health and wellness has evolved and now the World Health Organization defines health as "a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity."

In nursing, patients move along the continuum from illness toward health when they are effectively treated; and patients move along the continuum from health to illness as the result of an infection, injury or disease.

It's helpful to review the following documents:

References:

Government of Canada. (2008). What is health? https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/health-promotion/population-health/population-health-approach/what-is-health.html

Registered Nursing.Org. (2022). Health promotion and disease prevention: nclex-rn. https://www.registerednursing.org/nclex/health-promotion-disease-prevention/

World Health Organization. (2012). Health promotion. https://www.who.int/teams/health-promotion/enhanced-wellbeing/first-global-conference

World Health Organization. (n..d.). Constitution. https://www.who.int/about/governance/constitution

Nursing of Autism Spectrum Disorder by Ellen Giarelli; Marcia R. Gardner
ISBN: 9780826108470
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a growing health problem and nearly all nurses are likely to care for individuals with ASD. Designed as a textbook and a reference, this volume prepares nurses to recognize the unique challenges of providing evidence-based health care that meets the special needs of ASD patients across the lifespan and in multiple practice settings.
Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan by Ellen F. Olshansky
ISBN: 9781451192001
Publication Date: 2014-12-10
Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan provides a fresh and comprehensive approach to women's healthcare. Combining traditional and complementary medicine, this crucial text offers evidence-based insight on women's health and wellness.
Nutrition Across the Lifespan for Healthy Aging by National Academies of Sciences Engineering and Medicine Staff; Health and Medicine Division Staff; Food and Nutrition Board Staff; Food Forum Staff; Leslie Pray (Editor)
ISBN: 9780309457484
Publication Date: 2017-06-11
In September 2016, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine convened a workshop to examine trends and patterns in aging and factors related to healthy aging in the United States, with a focus on nutrition, and how nutrition can sustain and promote healthy aging, not just in late adulthood, but beginning in pregnancy and early childhood and extending throughout the lifespan. Participants discussed the role of nutrition in the aging process at various stages in life, changes in organ systems over the lifespan and changes that occur with age related to cognitive, brain, and mental health, and explored opportunities to move forward in promoting healthy aging.

According to the College of Nurses of Ontario, the consideration of ethical issues is a vital component of providing care within the therapeutic nurse-client relationship. Nurses face ethical conflict, uncertainty and moral distress in their everyday practice. Ethical dilemmas are often encountered in the healthcare system, in technology and in people's values.

It's useful to review the following documents for more information on nursing ethics and code of conduct:

The Canadian Nurse's Association Code of Ethics (email for a free copy or sign in if a member)
College of Nurses of Ontario Code of Conduct
The College of the Nurses of Ontario Practice Standard for Ethics

Reference:

From: 41034_Ethics (cno.org)

Annual Review of Nursing Research, Volume 34 : Nursing Ethics: Vulnerable Populations and Changing Systems of Care by Susanne Gibbons and Michaela Shafer
ISBN: 9780826140890
Publication Date: 2015
This annual review has provided over three decades of knowledge, insight, and research on topics critical to the field of nursing. The volume presents abundant new research devoted to examining and forwarding the field of modern ethics in nursing. It reflects the rapid acceleration of change in the roles and responsibilities of nurses and the concurrent need for reexamination of professional ethical values.
Expertise in Nursing Practice by Patricia Benner (Editor); Christine Tanner (Editor); Catherine Chesla (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826125453
Publication Date: 2009
This book clearly delineates the skills needed to become an expert nurse. In this new edition, the editors present a report of a six-year study of over 130 hospital nurses working in critical care. Expanding upon the study conducted in the previous edition, this new book documents and analyzes hundreds of new clinical narratives that track the development of clinical skill acquisition, including caring, clinical judgm
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice by Janie B. Butts and Karen L. Rich
ISBN: 9781284259254
Publication Date: 2022
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice continues to provide a solid ethical foundation for nursing students in an updated sixth edition. This comprehensive, easy-to-read text covers ethics across the nursing curriculum, making it a perfect fit for any undergraduate course. Logically divided into three parts, Nursing Ethics, Sixth Edition underscores how ethics is interwoven with nearly every aspect of professional nursing practice.
Nursing Ethics and Professional Responsibility in Advanced Practice by Pamela J. Grace
ISBN: 9781284107340
Publication Date: 2018
Nursing Ethics and Professional Responsibility in Advanced Practice, Third Edition focuses on the historical background, knowledge and leadership skills necessary to improve the quality of health for both individuals and society.
Cutting Through the Surface by Tuija Takala ( Editor); Peter Herissone-Kelly (Volume Editor); Søren Holm (Volume Editor); Søren Holm Editor)
ISBN: 9789042027398
Publication Date: 2009
This book examines the role of philosophy and philosophers in bioethics. Academics often see bioethical studies as too practical while decision makers tend to see them as too theoretical. The purpose of this collection of new essays by an international group of scholars is to explore the relationship between theory and practice in the ethical assessment of medicine, health care, and new medical and genetic technologies.