Health Challenges

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Contact me for classroom instruction

Subjects: Business & Management, Computer Studies, Copyright, Design & Visual Arts, Engineering & Environmental Technologies, Health & Wellness, Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation, Indigenous, Interdisciplinary, Nursing, Skilled Trades

AWHONN's Perinatal Nursing by Edited by Kathleen R. Simpson and Pat A. Creehan
ISBN: 9781469881096

Publication Date: 2013

An official publication of the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN), Perinatal Nursing, Fourth Edition presents up-to-date information based on the most rigorous evidence and offers suggestions for best practices. This new edition of the authoritative, comprehensive text features a wealth of new content to keep practice current.
Guidelines For Nursing Excellence in the Care of Children, Youth and Families by Cecily Betz, Marilyn Krajicek, and Martha Craft-Rosenberg
ISBN: 9780826169624

Publication Date: 2017

This second edition contains substantial updates to all guidelines based on the most current research evidence and demonstrates examples of how to best apply the guidelines to nursing practice. Disseminating the gold standard of care for infants, children, adolescents, and families, this text addresses access to health care, genetic assessment and counseling, culturally responsive care, care for children and youth with disabilities, and others.
Maternal-Child Nursing Care with Women's Health Companion by Susan L. Ward; Shelton M. Hisley
ISBN: 9780803636651

Publication Date: 2015

The 2nd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award winner offers the perfect balance of maternal and child nursing care with the right depth and breadth of coverage for students in today's maternity/pediatric courses. It offers a unique emphasis on optimizing outcomes, evidence-based practice, and research supporting the goal of caring for women, families and children, not only in traditional hospital settings, but also wherever they live, work, study, or play. \
Nurses and Families by Lorraine M. Wright; Maureen Leahey
ISBN: 9780803627390

Publication Date: 2013

The "how-to" book provides Innovative ideas to increase critical thinking. It has practical guidelines for family interviewing, clinical tools, skills and examples. Use the thoroughly revised evidence-based Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to competently and compassionately assess and intervene with families experiencing illness, loss, and/or disability.

In addressing abuse of older adults: the Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) has an initiative aimed to prevent and address abuse and neglect of older adults through various health care institutions and community settings in Canada. The foundation of the initiative—funded by the Government of Canada's New Horizons for Seniors Program—is Canada's first evidence-based best practice guideline for health-care providers, Preventing and Addressing Abuse and Neglect of Older Adults: Person-Centred, Collaborative, System-Wide Approaches. This Best Practice Guideline includes a Success Kit which contains easy-to-use resources to support compliance with the guideline.

Consider additional professional nursing documents in the care of older adults:

RNAO Clinical Best Practice Guideline: Delirium, Dementia, and Depression in Older Adults: Assessment and Care
RNAO Assessment and Management of Pain in the Elderly, a self-directed learning package for nurses in long-term care
RNAO Clinical Best Practice Guideline: Preventing Falls and Reducing Injury from Falls
Canadian Nurses Assocation's (CNA) Recommendations to the federal government on improving long term care, dementia care and inclusion and quality of life for Canadian seniors
Canadian Gerontological Nursing Association's Standards of Practice and Competencies

Information from: Addressing Abuse of Older Adults- An RNAO Initiative | Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario

Dementia in Nursing Homes by Sandra Schüssler (Editor); Christa Lohrmann (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319498324

Publication Date: 2017

Written by leading experts, this book discusses the latest advances in the field of dementia in nursing homes. The topics and findings covered are based on their survey and on a scientific literature review. The book provides essential information on the most important issues in dementia in nursing homes today, including meaningful activities, patient-/person-centered care, psychosocial interventions, challenging behavior, inclusion and support of family members, pain, staff training and education, communication, polypharmacy, quality of life, end-of-life care and advanced care planning, depression, delirium, multidisciplinary approaches, physical restraints and care dependency.
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice by Marie Boltz (Editor); Elizabeth Capezuti (Editor); DeAnne Zwicker (Editor); Terry T. Fulmer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826188144

Publication Date: 2020

The newest edition of this distinguished reference in geriatric nursing delivers updated guidelines, new illustrative case studies, and the latest evidence-based protocols developed by leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in each topic area. The sixth edition includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ+ elders, persons living with dementia and their families, and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres.
Fast Facts for the Long-Term Care Nurse : What Nursing Home and Assisted Living Nurses Need to Know in a Nutshel by Charlotte Eliopoulos
ISBN: 9780826121998

Publication Date: 2015

This concise and user-friendly resource contains the fundamental information long-term care nurses need to provide all aspects of safe and effective care to their patients in nursing homes and assisted living facilities. Written by a renowned and highly respected nurse leader in long-term care and gerontology, it presents key facts and core competencies related to the clinical and managerial responsibilities of nurses in these settings.
The Gerontology Nurse's Guide to the Community-Based Health Network by Brenda L. Bonham Howe and Rn Brenda Bonham Howe Msn
ISBN: 9780826127020

Publication Date: 2015

The book provides the critical information gerontology nurses need to synthesize the health conditions affecting older adults with education about and access to vital community-based services. It discusses health delivery in regard to cultural diversity, the physical and psychological changes of aging and how to adapt to them, and different types of community-based health options including home health services, independent and assisted living, long-term care, and hospice and palliative care.
Nursing Case Studies on Improving Health-Related Quality of Life in Older Adults by Meredith Wallace Kazer; Kathy Murphy
ISBN: 0826127037

Publication Date: 2015

Features evidence-based, practical, and effective strategies for creating and maintaining optimal quality of life for older adults This globally focused resource integrates sound research evidence, real-life case scenarios, and effective, practical strategies to address a key health care initiative of the 21st century: optimal quality of life for older adults.
Pain Management in Older Adults by Gisèle Pickering (Editor); Sandra Zwakhalen (Editor); Sharon Kaasalinen (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319716930

Publication Date: 2018

This book addresses relevant issues to enhance pain management nurses need to advocate for effective pain treatment in the elderly. Significant changes in the evolving nursing and healthcare environment require adequate information on this topic, as pain is a very challenging area. As other care professionals, nurses are daily confronted with issues on pain assessment and management. This volume offers an overview within an evolving health environment, in which nurses dealing with pain play a growing role. It showcases best practices in pain assessment and management, details non pharmacological and pharmacological treatments. It also addresses core issues defined by the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP), such as knowledge translation, that are most relevant for clinical nurses, student nurses, nurse researchers as well as other care professionals.

Mental health conditions take many forms, and they affect all ages, genders, geographical locations, ethnic backgrounds, and societies. Nurses in almost any area of service are likely to care for patients who are experiencing or have experienced mental health conditions. Understanding root causes of a mental health condition or an addiction is an important part of the recovery process. In order to effectively care for clients with substance abuse problems, nursing advocates for a trauma-informed approach.

Review these professional documents to increase your understanding of the nurse's role in mental health and addictions:

Information from: Mental-health-Competencies_EN_FINAL-Jan-18-2017.pdf

Introducing Mental Health Nursing by Cath Roper
ISBN: 9781000257632

Publication Date: 2020

Introducing Mental Health Nursing offers a systematic overview of both the science and the art of caring for people experiencing mental health problems. It addresses the attitudes, knowledge and skills required to provide care for service users across all health-care settings, from specialist mental health services to general hospitals and community care. The authors place the service user at the centre of all aspects of mental health care and emphasise the importance of the therapeutic relationship as the cornerstone of good mental health nursing practice.
Physical Healthcare and Promotion in Mental Health Nursing by Stanley Mutsatsa
ISBN: 9781446268179

Publication Date: 2015

It is essential for mental health nurses to understand the physical health needs of people with mental health disorders in order to provide holistic care. Yet these people often have their physical health needs unrecognised or poorly managed. This book is a practical and informative guide to the physical health care of people with mental health illnesses. It covers a range of health-promotion strategies, including exercise, diet and oral health, and assessment, intervention and skills for common physical disorders found in people with mental-health problems.
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by Mary C. Townsend
ISBN: 9780803643963

Publication Date: 2015

Rely on the distinctive voice and dedicated vision of Mary C. Townsend to provide the most clearly written, comprehensive text for psychiatric mental health nursing. Its evidence-based, holistic approach to nursing practice focuses on both biological and behavioral components.The 8th Edition of this popular text delivers even more of what nursing students need to meet the challenges of health care today. Completely revised and updated throughout, it reflects all of the new knowledge in the field and the practice of mental health nursing today, including DSM-5, NANDA-I 2012-2014, and QSEN.
Routledge Handbook of Global Mental Health Nursing by Edilma Yearwood (Editor); Vicki Hines-Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317702221

Publication Date: 2016

This book on global mental health is targeted to nurses, the front-line health worker for billions of people around the world.　 The roles that nurses can, and should, play in mental health care are diverse and this book addresses both well-trod as well as emerging concerns across the continuum of care from promotion to prevention to treatment.

Clinician Pocket Guide: Management of Perinatal Mood, Anxiety and Related Disorders from the 2024 CANMAT Clinical Practice Guideline
A concise summary of the 10 sections below to help healthcare providers with their management of patients with perinatal depressive, bipolar, anxiety, obsessive-compulsive, post-traumatic stress disorders, and postpartum psychosis.
Seeds of Hope: Nurturing Mental Health and Managing Perinatal Mood, Anxiety, and Related Disorders
Patient and Family Guide to CANMAT's 2024 Guidelines for Perinatal Mood, Anxiety, and Related Disorders. CANMAT is the Canadian Network for Mood and Anxiety Treatments

The Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) has a Best Practice Guideline on A Palliative Approach to Care in the Last 12 Months of Life which informs nursing education and practice on the important topic of palliative care. They also provide an excellent toolkit, Long-Term Care Best Practices Toolkit: Implementing and Sustaining Evidence-Based Practices in Long-Term Care.

In addition, the library has an excellent collection of books on the topic of palliative and end-of-life care for nursing. The library also offers relevant journals on this topic which will inform your knowledge for assignments. They include:

Hospice Palliative Home Care and Bereavement Support by Lorraine Holtslander (Editor); Shelley Peacock (Editor); Jill Bally (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030195342

Publication Date: 2019

This book provides an unique resource for registered nurses working in hospice palliative care at home and for the community, outside of acute care settings and also incorporates literature related to palliative care in acute health care settings, as part of the overall services and supports required. Very few resources exist which specifically address hospice palliative care in the home setting, despite the fact that most palliative care occurs outside acute care settings and is primarily supported by unpaid family caregivers. An overview of the concerns for individuals and families, as well as specific nursing interventions, from all ages would be an excellent support for nursing students and practicing registered nurses alike. The book structure begins with a description of the goals and objectives of hospice palliative care and the nursing role in providing excellent supportive care.
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by Ferrell, Betty, editor.; Paice, Judith A., editor.
ISBN: 0190862394

Publication Date: 2019

The Oxford of Palliative Nursing remains the most comprehensive treatise on the art and science of palliative care nursing available. Dr. Betty Rolling Ferrell and Dr. Judith A. Paice have invited 162 nursing experts to contribute 76 chapters addressing the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs pertinent to the successful palliative care team. Organized within 7 Sections, this new edition covers the gamut of principles of care: from the time of initial diagnosis of a serious illness to the end of a patient's life and beyond. This fifth edition features several new chapters, including chapters on advance care planning, organ donation, self-care, global palliative care, and the ethos of palliative nursing.
Palliative Care Nursing by Marianne Matzo; Deborah Witt Sherman
Call Number: RT87.T45 P343 2019

ISBN: 9780826127129

Publication Date: 2018

Based on the need to humanize rather than medicalize the illness experience for patients, this text delves into palliative care beyond the specific diseases affecting the patient. Instead, content focuses on the whole person and family. Palliative patients struggle with chronic, debilitating, and painful conditions, and grapple with the fact that life as they knew it has already passed away. Families and friends reciprocally suffer, not knowing how to help and therefore become the secondary victims of the disease. This is not the challenge of a lone nurse, or a single physician, therapist, or social worker. Rather, palliative and hospice care requires the expertise and unique roles of an interprofessional team to help the patient and family strengthen their resilience, continue to find meaning and purpose in life, and cure what can be cured.
Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients by Perrin, Kathleen Ouimet
ISBN: 1284209873

Publication Date: 2023

This text helps practicing nurses and students define and recognize various aspects of suffering across the lifespan and within various patient populations while providing guidance in alleviating suffering. In addition, it examines spiritual and ethical perspectives on suffering and discusses how witnessing suffering impacts nurses' ability to assume the professional role. Further, the authors discuss ways nurses as witnesses to suffering can optimize their own coping skills and facilitate personal growth.

The College of Nurses of Ontario's (CNO) Code of Conduct, Principle 2, focuses on providing inclusive and culturally safe care for diverse populations. This principle highlights the importance of learning and understanding cultural context and how an increased awareness of disabilities, sexual identity and anti-Indigenous and anti-Black racism, can influence client care. They also have Inclusive and culturally safe care resources to guide nurses in their understanding of diverse populations.

Check out these additional resources on nursing for diverse populations:

Consider reviewing nursing journals which offer great information on nursing and diverse populations:

An introduction to indigenous health and healthcare in Canada bridging health and healing by Douglas, Vasiliki Kravariotis
Publication Date: 2022

This book is intended primarily to provide nursing students with an accessible guide to the health of Canadian First Nations, Métis and Inuit-the Indigenous peoples of Canada. This book provides an explanation of how their values and worldview may differ from those of their colleagues but can still be accommodated within the profession.
LGBTQ Cultures by Michele J. Eliason, Michele J; Peggy L. Chinn
ISBN: 9781496394606

Publication Date: 2018

Drawn from real-world experience and current research, the fully updated LGBTQ Cultures, 3rd Edition paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients. This vital guide fills the LGBTQ awareness gaps, including replacing myths and stereotypes with facts, and measuring the effects of social stigma on health. Vital for all nursing specialties, this is the seminal guide to actively providing appropriate, culturally sensitive care to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities.
Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: a Population Approach by Larry Purnell (Editor); Eric Fenkl (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030513986

Publication Date: 2020

This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures.
Under-served : health determinants of Indigenous, inner-city, and migrant populations in Canada by Arya, Akshaya Neil, 1962- editor.; Piggott, Thomas, 1989- editor.
ISBN: 9781773380599

Publication Date: 2018

In this edited collection, academics, heath care professionals, and policy-makers examine the historical, political, and social factors that influence the health and health care of Indigenous, inner-city, and migrant populations in Canada. This crucial text broadens traditional determinants of health--social, economic, environmental, and behavioural elements--to include factors like family and community, government policies, mental health and addiction, disease, homelessness and housing, racism, youth, and LGBTQ that heavily influence these under-served populations.
Women's Health Care in Advanced Practice Nursing, Second Edition by Ivy M. Alexander (Editor); Versie Johnson-Mallard (Editor); Elizabeth Kostas-Polston (Editor); Catherine Ingram Fogel (Editor); Nancy Fugate Woods (Editor)
ISBN: 0826127487

Publication Date: 2017

Replete with vital information, the second edition of this authoritative women's health text provides graduate nursing students and nurse practitioners with the resources to deliver optimal health to women of all ages. Edited by a team of highly distinguished clinicians, scholars, and educators, chapters retain a distinctive sociocultural lens that gives a view of women's health as it relates to women's lives and identities.